All California Employers are required to provide paid sick leave to their employees beginning July 1, 2015. All employees, including part-time and temporary employees, will earn at least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked.
What are the accrual and usage rules?
Effective July 1, 2015, employees who work in California for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment will accrue paid sick leave at a rate of no less than one hour for every 30 hours worked.
Employees will be entitled to use accrued paid sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment, after which they may use paid sick days as they are accrued. While accrued paid sick days shall carry over to the following year of employment, employers may limit an employee’s use of paid sick leave to 24 hours, or three days, in each year of employment.
What happens when an employee is terminated?
Employers will not be required to compensate employees for unused sick days upon employment ending, but they must reinstate the previously unused balance if they rehire the employee within one year.
What must I do by July 1st to be in compliance?
- Finalize and communicate your policy to HigherUp payroll at least two weeks before your first July pay date.
- Display a poster on the paid sick leave/labor law where employees may read it easily.
- Provide written notice to employees with paid sick leave rights at the time of hire.
- Allow eligible employees to use accrued paid sick leave upon reasonable request.
- Show how many days of sick leave an employee has available. This can be done via pay stub.
- Retain records showing how many hours have been earned and used for three years.
Worried sick that you may not be in compliance by July 1st?
HigherUp is here to help! Our HR consulting team can help you determine the right policies for your Company and draft the appropriate revisions to your employee handbooks to ensure you are in compliance with the new regulations. Contact your dedicated payroll representative for assistance and information.
We will be following up with more information and blog posts regarding this law as July 1st approaches!